Bethany Presbyterian Church was founded in 1924 as a mission outreach of the Norfolk Presbytery which is now the Presbytery of Eastern Virginia (PEVA).  The Reverend S. K. Emurian was sent by the Presbytery to conduct the extension work and served as our first pastor from 1924-1927.

Through the years the following were later called to minister the word at Bethany Presbyterian Church.

Vernon L. Fisher           1927-1931                                Harry B. Christie          1964-1968            

Walter Buhler                1931-1940                               Erold Lotridge               1969-1973 

T. W. Buchanan             1941-1945                               Ernest W. Pettis            1973-1980

James M. Ammons       1946-1948                              Stephen N. Weed          1980-1991

Thomas T. Traynham   1949-1954                              John P. Hartman          1992-1997

Jeff Monroe                    1955-1958                              Douglas L. Van Niel     2000-2010         

Gerald L. Voye               1960-1963                              Dr. Steve E. Frazier      2011-2016

                                     Peter T. Atkinson          2017-Present


Bethany Presbyterian Church is the only Presbyterian Church USA in Isle of Wight County.